To Kill a Mockingbird-A Review

Day1Home

I’ve been struggling to write a review for two days now. I’m torn between really like one part of the book (the Tom Robinson trial) and being bored through the other two halves that book ended it. I felt compelled to love the book, it is an American classic after all. I loved Atticus, like many do. I loved his calmness, and his wisdom. I admired that he stood by his convictions in the face of scrutiny and hardship. I felt warmth whenever Scout or Jem had a  complex question and he would answer them like adults, instead of treating them like ignorant children like everyone else seemed to do.

Honestly, I wanted more Atticus. I wanted less of Scouts ramblings and playtime with Jem and Dill- I wanted less of Boo Radley folk-lore Macomb County had created to explain his reclusiveness. I couldn’t care for the chapters about Scouts classroom and school antics and I really couldn’t care about their eccentric friend Dill.

Throughout Harper Lee’s classic novel, I felt like I was in a classroom. I could imagine the english professor assigning the weekly reading and saying to skip a chapter here- a chapter there. ‘Start reading at the bottom of page 164’. Perhaps though, that is what makes To Kill a Mockingbird a great novel. It forced me to feel so many emotions. When Scout of bored, I was bored. When she felt injustice and anger well, I have to admit, I did too. I was excited and curious and so many other things that it was a constant whirlwind of emotion from page one to page 323.

Maybe that is what makes a great American classic.

To Kill A Mockingbird,  Harper Lee

323 pages

ISBN: 978-0-06-174352-8

Adult Fiction-Novel

Publication Date: 1960

HarperCollins Publishers

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

